A new Development

According to my Motorola(TM) Agreement ...
I may produce DLLs that encapsulate proprietary Motorola(TM) IP that allows myself & 3rd parties to access/control Motorola Radio's functionality, while not exposing Motorola's proprietary IP and protocols.
Administrator
Site Admin

A new Development

Post by Administrator »

Hi all,

My Motorola agreement expires later this year.

But as a part of the 2nd (3rd) extension to their 3 year agreement, I was granted a license to develop among other products, Windows DLLs that allowed myself and 3rd party Developers access to Motorola Radio's internal functionality - without exposing Motorola's proprietary Intellectual Property.

I initially started this ~6 years ago when I developed a DLL for a UK Radio Vendor (thus requiring acceptance into EMEA along with APAC). That vendor owns that DLL and its non-proprietary Development interface.

I sought this part in the latest agreement, as I'm a System/Backend/Technical Analyst/Programmer and GUI is not my strong suit.

These DLL's will allow me to work with other 3rd Party Developers - to produce MOTOTRBO bespoke/custom applications, without exposing my knowledge of the Motorola ADK to any of these others.

IMO Motorola Sales, 3rd Party Developers and us here, will all benefit by hopefully producing new & enhanced products without the onerous obligations that come with the Motorola license.

The DLLs that are nearing completion are:-
  • LRRP/GPS - encapsulation Motorola's LRRP/GPS Tx/Rx protocols
  • TMS/Text - encapsulation Motorola's TMS/Text Tx/Rx protocols
  • ARS - encapsulation Motorola's ARS Tx/Rx protocols
  • Radio Command/Control - encapsulation Motorola's command/control protocols & interface
  • Some Non Proprietary Windows based utilities
I am currently Alpha testing the majority of those that use Motorola IP.
Hopefully, they will be available for Beta testing to selected GUI developers soon.